SCIENTIFIC ADVISORY COMMITTEE REPORT

April 2008

Submitted by Gary White

The Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) was formed during the summer of 2005 to review science issues and make recommendations to the Board of Directors of the American Iris Society when appropriate. Following is a summary of the committee's activities from the November 2007 AIS Board meeting to April 1, 2008.

IRIS-RELATED RESEARCH

Discussion: The last grant to be awarded by AIS after recommendation by this committee was in September 2007. This grant was for research by Andrew Wheeler, a doctoral student at the Rancho Santa Ana Botanical Garden (RSA) and Claremont Graduate University (CGU).

The SAC also reviews grant proposals submitted to the AIS Foundation, when requested by the Foundation.

Status/Recommendation:

- Status of current grants awarded by AIS: Andrew Wheeler's grant-funded study "Section Limniris: Series Laevigatae, Series Prismaticae and Series Tripetalae: Are these historic groups supported?" is continuing. His communication with me in recent weeks indicates that his funds are sufficient for the current granting cycle, but he plans to request further funding in the next granting period. A progress report is expected in summer or early fall of 2008.
- 2. Members of The SAC are currently reviewing two grant proposals that were submitted to the AIS Foundation. The first of these was a proposal submitted by Dr. Noland Martin at Texas State University. His proposed study is "Genetic Linkage Mapping in *Iris nelsonii* X *Iris hexagona* Hybrids, or....Developing a necessary genetic tool for studying speciation in Louisiana Iris." The second grant proposal is from one of Dr. Martin's students, Sunni Taylor, and is titled "Homoploid hybrid speciation in Louisiana *Iris*". Reviews by members of the SAC will be considered when the AIS Foundation votes on these grant proposals at their Board meeting in Austin in April 2008.

Members of the AIS Scientific Advisory Committee:

Gary White (Chairman), Lincoln, NE Anna Cadd, Healdsburg, CA Dennis Hager, Millington, Maryland George Hildenbrandt, State College, PA Bob Hollingworth, Williamston, MI Anna Mae Miller, Kalamazoo, MI

Kelly Norris, Ames, Iowa Will Plotner, Molalla, Oregon Bob Pries, St. Louis, Missouri Bill Shear, Hampden-Sydney, Virginia James Waddick, Kansas City, Missouri